NAMASTE FOR THE HOLIDAYS

…5 Ways to relieve stress and enjoy the season.

Katy Cable
6 min readNov 30, 2021
PHOTO CREDIT: GETTY IMAGES

By Katy Cable-The Weekly Runt
A 3 Min. Read

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! -Or is it? For some it’s magical but this is also the season when suicides and domestic violence skyrocket and everyone seems stretched WAY too thin. This time of year, far too many people feel depressed and sad instead of loving and thankful. And this happens during the best of times. Now that we’re still trying to recover from a pandemic, as well as in the grips of crazy inflation it’s even worse. If you’re feeling down in the dumps, these tips should help brighten your spirits and allow you to find some joy during the holidays.

As a “recovering” co-dependent, I used to feel obligated to do everything and then guilty that I didn’t do enough. I dreaded the holidays because I had enormous expectations for myself. It was up to “ME” (not Santa Claus) to make everyone’s holiday magical. I always ended up angry, exhausted, and sick. Now I actually enjoy the holidays because I’ve learned how to do things entirely differently. Here are a few tips that have turned things around for me.

1. SELF-CARE is the name of the game. Most people (especially parents) don’t do anything for themselves until everyone else is OK. They put themselves last on…

--

--

Katy Cable

I love PUGS, cappuccinos and bad carbs. Put my Hashimoto’s into remission with simple food swaps. My holistic tips can help save you a rent payment in vet bills